Your shopping bag is empty.
FREE SHIPPING, on orders over $75! see details >
Shop our Holiday Gift Catalog* Shop our Holiday Gift Catalog*
Paul Kalanithi When Breath Becomes Air
Zoom
Processing...
× Shipping Options

Paul Kalanithi

When Breath Becomes Air

Item #: 9780812988406

$25.00 $25.00
You Save 0%

Available online
|
or
|
Add to Wish List
Find in Store

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade�s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi�s transformation from a na�ve medical student �possessed,� as he wrote, �by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life� into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. �I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything,� he wrote. �Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: �I can�t go on. I�ll go on.�� When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.

  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Random House; 1 edition (January 12, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 081298840X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0812988406
  • ProductDimensions: 5.4 x 1 x 7.7 inches
Product Details

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade�s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi�s transformation from a na�ve medical student �possessed,� as he wrote, �by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life� into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. �I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything,� he wrote. �Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: �I can�t go on. I�ll go on.�� When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.

  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Random House; 1 edition (January 12, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 081298840X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0812988406
  • ProductDimensions: 5.4 x 1 x 7.7 inches
Reviews